Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

Athena Swan banner

Athena SWAN

Trinity College Dublin School of Histories and Humanities is delighted to announce its engagement with Athena SWAN which promotes gender and diversity equality in higher education.

Trinity College Dublin currently holds an institutional Athena Swan bronze award.
For more information on Athena Swan and TCD, please see

Launch of Athena SWAN in the School of Histories and Humanities

The School of Histories and Humanities launched its Athena SWAN initiative on October 30th 2018 with an inspiring talk by Dr Carol Baxter, Assistant Secretary General, Department of Justice and Equality entitled 'Empowering women as leaders: the Athena Swan process and the National Strategy for Women and Girls'.

Dr Carol Baxter

Organised by the School’s Athena SWAN Champions (Dr Catherine Lawless and Professor Robert Armstrong), the event was attended by representatives from the School SAT as well as staff and students from the wider Faculty.


The School will continue its work towards a bid for an Athena Swan Bronze award in 2019. And we have our own SWAN mascot!


Self-Assessment Team in Histories and Humanities

  • Robert Armstrong (Convenor; History)
  • Catherine Lawless (Convenor; Director of the Centre for Gender and Women’s Studies)
  • Debra Birch (School Administrator)
  • Ruth Brennan (Post-doctoral scholar, Environmental History)
  • Ciaran Brady (History)
  • Pat Carty (Technical Support Staff Representative)
  • Peter Cherry (History of Art)
  • Martine Cuypers (Classics)
  • Daniel Geary (History)
  • Carole Holohan (History)
  • Elizabeth Foley (PG representative, Classics)
  • Jack Sheenan (PG representative, History)
  • Christine Morris (Head of School, Classics)
  • Helen Murray (Professional Support Staff Representative).